1. DIYTechnicalAnalysis is a private community of traders and investors interested in building wealth from Indian equity market. You can become a member with a one time registration fee of ₹199. Click here to become a member

Learning to swim in Share Market

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by naveen1241, Jul 11, 2012.

?

Did you like my story ?

1. Yes

100.0%
  2. No

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. naveen1241

naveen1241 Responder

Hi All,
    First of all, a big THANKS to Shabbir for the opportunity. Shabbir, I wish you all the very best for all of your initiatives.
    Well, coming back to my intro, I'm Naveen Natarajan in my early thirties, a Software Engineer by profession. I started trading and investments around three years back, when my Father In Law introduced me to the stock markets. While I was a newbie, I just put in some money and my FIL suggested me stocks which i should look into. Without any knowledge on the markets, I started picking stocks making profits doing some sort of intra-day tradings in blue chips. If I dont get profit, I would wait and make it an investment. During my initial trading days, I was against the idea of stop loss. In short I was against booking any loss. Now you could probably understand what would have happened. Yes you are right :) I lost some of my hard earned money :mad:. But I was fortunate enough to have not lost much money only because I had a policy of only investing a little more money than the profits i have made in my successful trades. To cut the story short, 10-11 months back I realized that I'm not in the right path. I started analyzing my portfolio.(Rediff Money). From then, I managed to lower my loss percentage from -19% to -3.4% as on today. This is too much for an intro, I suppose.